Reply: 3

Witnessing the trial of SBF:

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Forum Veteran

Credits
Post time 10-4-2024 12:56:19 | Show all posts |Read mode
Witnessing the trial of SBF: Reflecting on the future of the crypto industry from his downfall

I attended the trial of SBF. It was one of the most shocking experiences of my life. Seeing him sentenced to 25 years in prison felt surreal, like sitting behind him in court.

Let's talk about the whole process:

In the crypto community on Twitter, SBF is a legendary figure. In 2020, when FTX was just starting out, I first messaged him when I was a freshman research assistant. He inspired me to join the Solana ecosystem in early 2021. Soon, he became the world's youngest billionaire.

But today, he sat in the front row, and what I saw was a meek, nervous, pale man - much smaller in stature than I imagined.

We briefly made eye contact, then his gaze shifted away, and he lowered his head.

Only 20 people were allowed in to observe, so I arrived at the scene at 4 am before dawn. The only person there earlier than me was a New York Times reporter, rumored to be the spokesperson for SBF's parents regarding the matter. He was also the only reporter I saw talking to SBF's parents.

The trial of former U.S. President Trump was also taking place in a nearby building. At dawn, Secret Service agents, steel barriers, and black vans were driving around the area. I waited for 5 hours in the cold of the New York financial district.

The courtroom today was much smaller than I imagined. I greeted SBF's parents sitting on the bench next to me. Writers, sketch artists, and journalists looked at SBF as if he were an animal in a zoo. When the judge entered, everyone stood up.

SBF's lawyer begged the judge to allow adderall (a nerve stimulant considered a type of DUpin) to alleviate SBF's physical tremors.